When drivers on America’s roadways are involved in an accident, there is a set of specific steps all parties should take. These steps include getting the information of all parties involved and their insurance providers, contacting your own insurance company, and contacting the police to arrive at the scene. These steps help create a sense of balance in what is certainly a disorienting time. However, what happens when drivers break that balance? What happens when a driver flees the scene of an accident that has caused personal injury to others?
When you are the victim of a hit and run accident, you are likely going to want to know your rights to legal action in order to recover compensation for damages incurred. While contacting an experienced personal injury attorney should be at the top of your list, it is also advisable to take some time to understand a general overview of how Nevada law conceptualizes hit and run cases.
Penalties for Hit and Run Offenses in Nevada
In Nevada, the penalties for a hit and run offense are differentiated based on the overall damages caused. In the event that only property damage resulted from the crash, the defendant can be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a sentence of up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines.
In the event that personal injury or death result from the hit and run, the offender faces more severe penalties. This type of offense is considered a category B felony in Nevada, which carries a sentence of between two and 20 years in Nevada State Prison, plus between $2,000 and $5,000 in fines as well as the revocation of the offender’s license. This is in addition to any requirements to pay compensation for damages incurred by the injured, as determined by the civil courts.
When the Offender Cannot be Located
The unfortunate reality is that there will be cases wherein the person who committed the hit and run cannot be located. If this happens to you, it will be nearly impossible to recover compensation for your injuries. For this reason, it is always a good idea to consider obtaining uninsured motorist insurance. In addition, equipping your vehicle with a dashboard camera, or “dashcam,” can help you gather the necessary identifying information to help the authorities find the hit and run driver.
On this topic, it is important to note that in the event that the case is reported as a claim for uninsured motorist protection, the insurance provider will look to determine if you were in any way acting negligent in the events leading up to the accident. As Nevada is a comparative negligence state when determining fault in auto accidents, it is imperative that you are mindful of the area’s traffic laws and all times.
When to Contact a Professional
Getting into an accident is stressful enough. When the other party flees the scene, it can be a traumatizing and disorienting experience. This is why working with trusted legal counsel is so important. For years, the attorneys at H&P Law have been helping hit and run victims in and around Las Vegas fight for their rights to compensation. Contact H&P Law today to discuss your case.