The Associated Press reports that two 17-year-old girls were killed when they were struck by a vehicle while crossing the street. The 38-year-old driver of the vehicle was arrested by local law enforcement under the suspicion of driving under the influence. According to reports, the driver’s car veered off of the road and hit a traffic sign before striking and killing the two girls. After the girls were hit, the driver’s vehicle slammed into a traffic signal pole and a tree before finally coming to a complete stop.
Traffic accidents involving pedestrians — those that involve death and those that result in injuries — are on the rise in Nevada. In addition to drivers who are under the influence, like the accident above, pedestrians are also at a higher risk of death and injury because of distracted drivers as well as large sports utility vehicles (SUVs).
In fact, Nevada has some of the strictest and hardest drunk driving penalties in the United States. The law mandates that anyone who is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 or more will likely result in an arrest and DUI charges. In addition to facing the loss of a driver’s license, those convicted of DUIs in Nevada will also face thousands of dollars in fines and other costs, depending on their prior convictions.
Penalties for DUI Convictions
There are several types of penalties for DUI convictions in Nevada. The charges and penalties differ depending on whether the accused has a history of these types of violations.
In Nevada, first-offense DUI convictions can have penalties such as jail time from two days up to six months, 96 hours of community service, a monetary fine between $400 and $1,000, and/or additional court costs.
Moreover, a first-time offender who is convicted may also lose his or her right to drive for 90 days, plus civil penalties, and attendance at a drunk driving school, which has additional out-of-pocket expenses. For those charged and convicted with a DUI who are found to have a BAC higher than 0.18, they can expect mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program in addition to a breath interlock device being installed in their vehicle for one to three years.
Someone facing a second DUI conviction in less than seven years must spend between 10 days and six months in jail or a residential treatment program. The accused will also lose driving privileges for 12 months, must pay a civil penalty, and can expect a monetary fine between $750 to $1,000. Moreover, a Nevada court will mandate an alcohol dependency evaluation at an additional cost as well as a requirement to attend a long-term DUI school. For those charged and convicted for a second time who have a BAC of 0.18 or higher, a breath interlock device will be installed in the person’s vehicle from one to three years.
Anyone found guilty of a third DUI offense and conviction within a seven year time period, will face a Class B felony charge. A third conviction may include between one and six years of jail time, three year driver’s license suspension, and a monetary fine between $2,000 and $5,000. The accused will also have to attend an alcohol treatment program for at least three years. Once driving privileges are reinstated, a breath interlock device will be installed in their car for one to three years.
Contact Us Today
If you or someone you care about has been hurt in a Nevada DUI accident, contact the courtroom proven attorneys at H&P Law. We will fight for the compensation you deserve.