Out-of-State Driver Hurt in a Las Vegas Accident? Here is What to Do
More than 42 million tourists visited Las Vegas in 2019 for a variety of reasons. It is no surprise Las Vegas has such a busy tourist sector. When a city combines hotels, vacations, entertainment, conventions, and other events, people come into Las Vegas from around the country and the world to experience its hospitality. Such a large number of visitors, however, means that some tourists will experience personal injuries due to accidents including car crashes. If you have been injured in a Las Vegas car accident but you are from out of state, there are some important steps you should take.
How to Protect Yourself: If you are involved in a car accident, be sure to use caution when speaking with law enforcement as well as the other driver involved in the crash. Do not appear to admit fault for the collision. Likewise, stay clear from the line of traffic and pull off to the side of the road to keep from being injured. If you are involved in an accident and you are from out-of-state, you must seek medical care immediately after you have finished the police report. After getting treatment, contact a Nevada personal injury attorney as an out-of-state lawyer cannot help you with a case involving an accident in Nevada.
Injuries after a Motor Vehicle Accident: It does not matter if you were in your own car, a rental vehicle, or someone else’s car, be sure to contact the insurance company right after you seek medical treatment for your injuries resulting from the crash. Nevada law mandates that all drivers carry a minimum amount of insurance, referred to as 25/50/20. This requirement has been on the books since 2018, and mandates that all motorists in Nevada have minimum of $25,000 coverage for bodily injury, $50,000 in coverage per accident for bodily injury, and $20,000 in property damage coverage. If you or someone else in the accident is seriously injured, the damages may exceed these minimum coverage requirements.
Document as Much as Possible: If you are involved in any type of car accident, documenting what happened – from the crash scene to your doctor’s visits – is critical to a personal injury claim. Be sure to file and obtain a copy of the police report, but also get names and contact information of other drivers and witnesses to the crash. Take photos and/or videos of the scene of the accident as well as surrounding traffic lights or signs. Doing so will help develop a better picture of what happened. Once you have been seen by a healthcare provider, write out your memory of the accident in addition to keeping a symptom journal and getting copies of medical records.
Why Hire a Nevada Attorney
There are a multitude of reasons why you should hire a local attorney when you are involved in an accident and are from out of state. A Nevada attorney will understand how insurance carriers treat car accident claims in the state. If your claim ultimately ends up in court, you will want someone licensed in the state where the accident happened representing you. Keep in mind that Nevada imposes a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury claims, which means you must file a lawsuit within that time frame or lose your rights to damages forever. Contact the skilled attorneys at H&P Law today. With offices located in Las Vegas and Henderson, we can help fight for the compensation you deserve.