The short answer is no. Every state in the nation requires that all drivers have car insurance when they are on the road. The Insurance Research Council (IRC) researched how many drivers were driving on the road without car insurance coverage. According to the study, one in eight drivers on America’s roads are uninsured. The details below should help you understand Nevada insurance requirements and how uninsured drivers affect others. If you or someone you know has been hurt in a Nevada car accident, contact an experienced personal injury attorney right away.
Uninsured Drivers on the Road
The IRC recently issued a report on uninsured motorists that examined trends in the percentage of uninsured motorists across the nation based on the frequency of uninsured motorist and bodily injury claims between 2015 and 2019. The IRC report revealed:
- One in eight drivers on America’s roads did not have car insurance coverage;
- The nationwide uninsured motorist rate averaged 6%;
- The range of uninsured motorist rates varied, from 1% in New Jersey to nearly 30% in Mississippi;
In Nevada, the average percentage of uninsured drivers was 4%.
The Cost of Uninsured Motorists
Why does it matter that there are uninsured motorists on America’s roads? Because uninsured drivers cost everyone else money. The IRC study found that in 2016:
- On average, insured drivers pay $78 more per vehicle for protection against uninsured or underinsured at-fault drivers in the event of an accident that resulted in medical costs and property damage; and
- Nationwide, insured drivers paid more than $13 billion for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
One reason why Nevadans may be hesitant to purchase car insurance, despite the legal requirement, is the expense. According to an article published by Stacker.com, Nevada ranks among the top 10 states with the highest annual car insurance premiums. Car insurance rates are based on several risk factors, including a person’s:
- Driving record;
- Geographic location;
- Marital status;
- Usage-based insurance;
- Vehicle use;
- Prior insurance coverage;
- Vehicle’s make and model; and
- Credit-based insurance scoring.
Nevada Insurance Requirements
Nevada law mandates that all drivers have car insurance coverage. The minimum requirements are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, per accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons, per accident;
- $20,000 for destruction of, or injury to, property of others, per accident.
Car insurance coverage must be issued and validated by an insurance carrier that is authorized to do business in Nevada. State law further mandates that a driver must be able to present evidence of insurance on their mobile device or a printed card when prompted by law enforcement. Notably, Nevada does not have a grace period when it comes to car insurance. One day of a lapse in coverage results in a possible vehicle registration suspension and a minimum reinstatement fee penalty of $250.
Experienced Las Vegas Attorneys
Do not let the complexities of car insurance get you down. The attorneys at H&P Law know that no amount of insurance coverage can protect you from an accident due to the fault of another. If you or someone you know has been hurt in a Nevada car accident, do not delay. Contact our experienced personal injury attorneys so that we can get the compensation you deserve.