What Nevada’s “No Pay, No Play” Law Means for You

In 2016 Nevada legislators passed a law referred to as “No Pay, No Play.” The legislation was focused on uninsured drivers throughout the state of Nevada. Under this law, it is difficult for injured car accident victims to obtain monetary compensation for resulting injuries if at the time of the crash they were violating the law, regardless of whether or not they were at fault for the crash.

Nevada’s Insurance Requirements

Whether you are new to the state of Nevada, have just purchased a new car, or are just researching car insurance coverage, it is important to know your obligations under the law. The Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT) mandates that every driver purchase car insurance coverage with certain limits. Any proof of coverage, such as a copy of your insurance card, must be in the vehicle at all times. If you drive without proof of insurance and are pulled over by Nevada law enforcement, you could be given a citation. 

Nevada requires the minimum car insurance coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle in the state:

  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage;
  • $50,000 of property damage liability coverage; and
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage.

While insurers should offer uninsured motorist coverage in Nevada, you have the option to not add this coverage to your policy.

How “No Pay, No Play” Affects You

In the most simple terms, if you do not hold at least the minimum auto insurance coverage required by Nevada law and you are involved in a car accident you will likely be unable to seek and obtain monetary compensation for financial, property, and physical harm suffered. This will be the end result even if you were not at fault for causing the crash. Nevada does allow some exceptions, however. Specifically, if a driver is hurt as a result of a hit-and-run accident or due to a drunk driving crash and is not at fault, he or she may still pursue full monetary compensation for harm suffered regardless of victim’s insurance status. Moreover, family members of victims who tragically died in a Nevada car accident may also still pursue a wrongful death claim against the at-fault driver(s). This is possible even if the deceased was uninsured or underinsured. 

Finally, if your Nevada insurance policy expires, the law allows you a 45 day window from the date the previous policy expired to purchase new coverage. 

Understand Your Rights

If you are unsure of the next steps available to you after being involved in a Nevada car accident, contact the skilled personal injury Matt Pfau Law Group. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of state law including Nevada’s “No Pay, No Play” law. We will investigate the accident and seek the monetary compensation you deserve.

(image courtesy of Neonbrand)

0 Points

Leave a Reply