If you or someone you know has been hit by a vehicle in Las Vegas, Nevada, and the at-fault driver fled the scene of the accident, then a hit-and-run has occurred. When a driver hits another car, a piece of property, or a pedestrian and then flees the scene, that is referred to as a hit-and-run accident. In such a scenario, the at-fault driver leaves without stopping and checking on the well-being of others in the crash, does not exchange information, and refuses to wait for law enforcement to arrive at the accident scene. There are many places where hit-and-runs occur such as at intersections and in parking lots.
Irrespective of where, how, or when a hit-and-run occurs, the driver who flees the accident scene is committing a crime under Nevada law. When a hit-and-run accident results in property damage, the at-fault driver can be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to six months in jail and up to $1,000.00 in monetary fines. Should the hit-and-run result in any injuries or death, then the at-fault driver can be charged with a Class B felony and face up to 20 years in prison and thousands of dollars in monetary fines.
Steps to Take
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run accident—whether while walking, riding a bike, or driving your car—where the at-fault driver flees, here is what you can do to help protect your legal rights and be able to seek monetary compensation later:
- Stay at the accident scene: Do not leave the accident, as it is a crime to do so (even if you were not at fault for the collision). Contact local law enforcement right away, especially if there is anyone who was seriously hurt or if there was any property damaged.
- Keep copies of everything: Make sure you keep copies of all documentation given by responding police officers, emergency medical personnel, the hospital ER, and your physician’s office.
- Assess any damage: After getting your car to a safe location, figure out what damage has occurred and take photos of your vehicle and any other damage that resulted from the crash. As soon as law enforcement arrives, inform them that you would like to file a police report.
- Capture identifiable information: Gather as much information as possible regarding the fleeing driver so that you may provide this to the police. This can include the make, model, and color of the car; any physical features of the driver; any identifiable information of the vehicle such as specialty plates, bumper stickers, bodywork, etc.
- Ask witnesses: If the accident happened before witnesses, ask them what they say and if they can provide any details to the police. Also, find out if any security cameras or video doorbells were nearby and caught footage of the accident and the vehicle of the hit-and-run driver.
If you follow the above steps, you should be able to preserve your rights to seek monetary compensation for harm suffered in a Las Vegas hit-and-run accident.
Seek Legal Help
While the state of Nevada is responsible for seeking criminal charges against a hit-and-run driver, as a victim, you have a right to pursue a civil injury case and seek monetary compensation separate and apart from the criminal case. The experienced Las Vegas personal injury attorneys at H&P Law will fight for your right to payment. Contact us today.