For many Americans, getting their driver’s license is like getting one step closer to pure freedom. All of a sudden, the boundaries of possibility seem limitless. However, with great power comes great responsibility, and Nevada law outlines stringent rules for preventing reckless driving and subsequent personal injury.
While reckless driving may be an idea commonly associated with youthful indiscretion, the reality is that drivers of all ages can be guilty of reckless driving in Las Vegas. The penalties can vary from small fines to significant fees and even jail time if severe personal injury results from an accident caused by a driver’s recklessness.
When Las Vegas residents fall victim to a crash that they believe was due to the other driver’s reckless actions, they are going to want to consult with a seasoned personal injury attorney to review their rights to compensation for damages. By working with a professional, victims will begin to understand the intricacies of proving reckless driving occurred. For more information on what Las Vegas residents should know about reckless driving on Nevada roads, continue reading.
Reckless Driving Defined
Under Nevada law, reckless driving can take two different definitions. First, reckless driving can mean acting in any manner that shows a willful and wanton disregard for the safety of other people or property. Second, the law specifies differential charges for individuals who either drive in an illegal speed race on public highways or organize such a race.
Reckless Driving and Comparative Negligence
In personal injury court cases, the judge will look at the relative negligence of each party involved and then assign overall compensation amounts accordingly. Negligence can mean many things, including an accidental lapse of attention or judgment that led to an accident.
The definition of comparative negligence contrasts in significant ways from that of reckless driving. The main discriminator between the two concepts is the “willful and wanton disregard” for others that defines a reckless driver. Reckless drivers tend to face additional penalties and consequences compared to drivers who simply acted negligently.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Nevada
The penalties for reckless driving vary depending on the number of times the offender has been charged. For a first offense, a fine between $250 and $1,000 and up to six months in jail is possible. For a second offense, a fine between $1,000 and $1,500 as well as up to six months in jail is likely for the offender. For the third and all subsequent offenses, a fine between $1,500 and $2,000 and up to six months in jail is a possible consequence.
When to Contact an Attorney
If you believe your personal injuries from an auto accident were due to the other driver’s reckless actions, you should contact a personal injury attorney to review your case and discuss your rights to fair compensation. For years, the legal team at H&P Law has been helping Las Vegas residents do just that. Contact H&P Law today for targeted insight you can trust.