When driving down America’s roadways, the presence of semi trucks is a sight to behold. These behemoths serve a critical role in our nation’s economy, transporting various goods across vast distances. These vehicles can weigh significantly more than an average passenger car, meaning even a slight accident can be grounds for significant personal injury.
The damage potential of a semi truck accident is the impetus for the federal government to enact a variety of rules and regulations that set a standard for trucking operations in America. Additionally, Nevada has created statewide laws that apply to all semi trucks on state roads. These rules and regulations are aimed at helping to prevent the incidence of semi accidents that result in personal injury to drivers.
When a driver is injured in an accident involving a semi truck, they are likely going to want to enlist the services of an experienced personal injury attorney to help them build a case for litigation to recover compensation for damages. The plaintiff’s team will work to gather evidence to determine whether or not the semi truck was violating the rules and regulations defined by law. Therefore, it is important for anyone who regularly shares the road with semi trucks to be aware of these laws.
Semi Truck Length and Weight Limits in Nevada
In Nevada, trucks must be under a certain weight, depending on the axle count of the vehicle. For single-axle trucks, a weight limit of 20,000 pounds applies. For tandem-axle trucks, 34,000 pounds is the weight limit. Finally, for triple-axle trucks, the weight limit is 42,000 pounds. A truck hauling more than its specified weight capacity is at risk of losing control, and can be a sign of negligence on the part of the trucking company.
In addition to weight limits, length limits also apply to semi trucks in Nevada. Trucks must not exceed 14 feet in height, 8.5 feet in width, and 70 feet in length.
Truck Driver Requirements in Nevada
Truck drivers in Nevada must hold a valid Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). Truckers must be at least 21 years old, and 25 if the truck is longer than 70 feet. In addition, licensed truckers must consent to alcohol or drug testing if they are pulled over by police.
Penalties and restrictions apply to truckers that are found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol while on the job. For example, if a driver is found with any detectable alcohol in their system while behind the wheel, they are restricted from driving for 24 hours. If a driver was under the influence at the time of an accident, you as the plaintiff along with your personal injury attorney will almost certainly have an easy time proving the defendant was acting in a negligent manner.
When to Contact a Professional
When you incur personal injury as a result of a crash with a semi truck, the process of fighting for fair compensation can be daunting. For example, the trucking company will likely employ their legal team to build a strong defense against your claims. For this reason, an experienced personal injury in your area is a must-have. Fortunately, for years H&P Law has been helping victims in and around Las Vegas build a strong case and fight for their rights. Contact H&P Law today to get targeted insight you can use.