loader-logo

Nevada Changes its Driving Laws in 2020

When the state of Nevada changes its driving laws, it is critical that everyone who drives on the state’s roads understands the impact of the changes. Sometimes, the manner in which we drive has to be modified; in other cases, the changes can significantly impact those who are involved in a Nevada car accident. Below are five changes to the state of Nevada’s driving laws that went into effect in 2020.

Emergency Vehicle Move-Over Rules 

Nevada drivers have had to slow down when encountering an accident — known as the state’s “Move Over Laws” — for years. Specifically, Nevada drivers who saw ambulances, police cars, or fire trucks at an accident scene were required to move over to prevent harm to rescue workers. With Senate Bill 395, tow trucks are now allowed to use blue instead of amber lights and are included in the new Move Over law. 

Trick Driving Violations

Trick driving now falls under the category of reckless driving violations under the new laws, Nevada’s AB201. This type of driving includings traveling at high speed and creating a video of the stunts while on Nevada roadways. These types of stunts can result in serious injury to those who are trick driving or others on the roadway. Penalties for violating this law can include losing the vehicle for up to 30 days, mandatory community service, monetary fines up to $1,000, and jail time. 

Helmet Requirement Changes

As many as 1,000 people in Nevada suffered serious injuries on Nevada roadways in motorcycle accidents between 2012 and 2016. Nevada’s helmet laws go back to 1972, requiring motorcycle operators to wear both helmets and protective eye gear. Under Senate Bill 408, the helmet law requirement not only applies to motorcycles, but also trimobiles and mopeds. Violation of the law is a misdemeanor offense.

Reckless Driving and Unauthorized Speed

Nevada law makes it illegal for drivers to operate a motor vehicle at dangerously fast speeds on the state’s roads. While the law has prevented speed racers on roadways, it has increased this activity in parking garages, on roads within gated communities, and in parking lots. Assembly Bill 403 updated existing law to include public areas, including those that are publicly accessible, irrespective of how hidden or out of the way these areas may be. Penalties for violating this law by driving recklessly includes up to six months in prison and a misdemeanor charge. If a death occurs as a result of reckless driving, the accused could face up to one year in jail and other penalties under the law. 

Know the Law

Every driver who is traveling on Nevada’s roads and highways needs to be aware of the law and understand how any changes may impact them. Some recent changes make it easier for a victim of a Nevada car accident to show that a driver was negligent. If you are involved in a car accident, make sure you know your rights and contact the Las Vegas legal team at H&P Law for your initial case evaluation. 

0 Points


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *