For many young people across the U.S., getting that first after-school job is an important part of growing up. Having the ability to earn some extra money allows minors to be more independent and not need to rely so heavily on their parents. Indeed, some kids can use a portion of their earnings to save for something important (like a car) or to spend on some fun (like concert tickets). If you run a business, you may be wondering if you are allowed to hire a minor and, if so, what rules you have to follow. It is critical to understand that employment laws for minors are different than those for adults. This distinction applies across the country, and failing to abide by these regulations can result in significant legal issues. And the state of Nevada is no exception to treating minor workers differently than adult workers.
Knowing the Rules for Minor Workers
Nevada state regulation governing the employment of minors, specifically those under the age of 16, can be found on the state legislature’s website. The rules are straightforward and can be found under Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 609. Some of these guidelines are as follows:
- When school is not in session, children under the age of 16 cannot work more than 48 hours a week and no more than eight hours per day.
- When school is in session, children under the age of 16 cannot work during school hours, except if working on a motion picture, and cannot work more than three hours on a school day and no more than 18 hours per week;
- Children cannot work outside of the hours of 7am to 7pm, irrespective of whether school is in session or not.
- Children under the age of 16 cannot work in positions that sell “immoral goods”;
For minors aged 16 and 17, these workers are generally allowed to be hired in any industry just like adults. They cannot, however, work in any establishment that serves alcoholic beverages. Workers under the age of 18 are prohibited from working in certain occupations that are considered hazardous such as:
- Jobs manufacturing paints or leads;
- Positions in mines or quarries;
- Jobs where workers construct or pack matches;
- Working in laundry facilities;
- Jobs smelting or ore reducing;
- Jobs involving poisonous chemicals;
- Positions in tobacco or cigar factories;
- Position at distilleries, breweries, etc.;
- Jobs involving railroad-related work;
- Jobs handling or manufacturing explosives;
- Working with large, dangerous power-driver machinery.
Notably, Nevada’s child labor laws apply to all workers under the age of 18. Those who are younger than 14 years of age are completely barred from working in order to maintain the child’s physical, emotional, and mental development. Some light jobs are allowable, but with parental permission.
Do Not Break the Law
Child labor laws were put in place for a reason. Nevada’s rugged terrain established the state as a major player in the copper, gold, and silver mining industry centuries ago. The growth of this industry birthed the arrival of the railroad, and along with that, an increase in child labor. As a result of poor conditions, Nevada established early childhood labor laws at the beginning of the 1900s. If you are considering hiring a minor for your business, be sure to stay within the limits of the law so that you do not run afoul of child labor laws.
If you or someone you know has been hurt in a Nevada accident, call the experienced personal injury attorneys at H&P Law to learn about your rights and obligations under the law and how you can seek monetary compensation for harm suffered.