If you or someone you know is involved in a Nevada accident, there are several steps you can take to protect your rights under Nevada law.
Do not leave the scene of the car crash. It is against Nevada law to flee after a car accident. Instead, check if anyone is injured. If someone is hurt, call 9-1-1 right away for emergency medical attention. Even if you think you were not harmed, be sure to see a doctor because symptoms may appear days or weeks later. Notably, medical records are critical for successful Nevada personal injury claims.
Call law enforcement authorities. If anyone was hurt or killed because of a car accident, you must call law enforcement. If you are hurt and need to file an insurance claim for injuries suffered, the police report generated by an officer regarding the accident will be important because it may indicate the officer’s opinion of who was at fault for the crash. Keep in mind that Las Vegas police officers are not mandated to report to the scene of a minor car crash.
Move your location to somewhere safe. Most car crashes occur in the middle of the roadway. If possible, move your vehicle—and have other drivers move their vehicles as well—to a safe location. If you leave the crashed cars in the middle of traffic, doing so can result in additional accidents.
Take videos and pictures. Photos and videos can be valuable evidence in a Las Vegas accident. This evidence can show how the crash occurred and which driver was at fault. Be sure to take photos of car damage from different and various angles. Include photos of any injuries and any other items that are relevant to the crash scene, including broken glass, traffic signals, and any open containers in vehicles.
Exchange information with others. Make sure that you collect information from the other drivers that were involved in the accident. Obtain names, contact information, license plate numbers, driver’s license numbers, as well as auto insurance information.
Contact the DMV about the accident. Under state law, you must report a car crash to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (NDMV) within 10 days if anyone was hurt or killed in a car accident or property damage occurred exceeding $750.00. If law enforcement authorities visited the scene, however, this requirement is often met because a crash report is filed directly with the DMV.
Contact your auto insurance company. Most auto insurance companies mandate that policyholders report car crashes within a certain timeframe. If you are in an accident, be sure to check your policy language to find out the contractual deadline. You should inform the claims representative that a crash occurred, when it happened, and where the collision took place. Do not agree to a settlement offer, discuss injuries, make any recorded statements, or sign any document without first speaking with an attorney.
If you or someone you know has been hurt in a Las Vegas car accident, contact the skilled personal injury attorneys at H&P Law. We will fight for the best compensation available to you–whether inside or outside of the courtroom. Do not delay, contact us today for your initial no-obligation case evaluation.